Latest News - Future International Events Changes

Report Purpose

The purpose of this report is to clearly articulate decisions taken by the World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF) on the 2nd October 2012 in regards to:

a) Underage Division Description,
b) Universal Date of Eligibility
c) Masters Divisions post 2016.


The first WICF World Cup was held in 1995 with just one division and since then the international calendar has grown to include teams from 12 and under boys through to over 45 men. This has often meant the tournament at which a division has competed has changed as numbers have changed. For example the 19 and under boys and girls division were regular competitors at the Masters World Series until 2005 when the expansion of that competition led to the move to the World Cup. The introduction of the Junior World Series in 2012 means that for the first time there is a clear pathway for players from 12 and under through to Open divisions and beyond.

This initiative now gives players across the world the opportunity to enter a pathway that can take them all the way to elite level. It now becomes the responsibility of the WICF and its member countries to ensure that this pathway delivers on its promise to produce the world’s best indoor cricket players and tournaments.


With the growing integration and acknowledgement of Indoor cricket as a legitimate member of the cricket family it is seen as important that our pathways align where possible. To that end it was decided that from 2013 onwards all underage divisions shall be known as under (age) rather than (age) and over. The following table lists the changes to WICF international grades:


WICF International Underage divisions from 2013

Underage division descriptions

New from Jan 1st 2013
12 & Under
Under 13
14 & Under
Under 15
16 & Under
Under 17
19 & Under
Under 20

1. Masters divisional descriptions will remain as current. i.e. Over 35.
2. The Under 20 boys and girls will continue to be played as part of the WICF World Cup


Perhaps more importantly than the need to align divisional descriptions is the need to ensure a clearly defined age eligibility criteria is put in place. This will ensure that once a player enters into the pathway system they have clarity over which division they are eligible from year to year. This will aid coaches and the talent identification process as players can be selected from like versus like competitions regardless of the time of the year the tournament is played.

To that end it was decided that from 2013, the date for which age eligibility will be calculated is December 31st in the year of the tournament regardless of the month in which the tournament takes place. In practical terms that means that in the year of a tournament a player playing in, for example, an under 13 tournament must not be over the age of 12 in the year of the tournament. 

Note this change does not affect Masters age eligibility which will remain at the time of the tournament.


There was much discussion about the need to reassess the divisions for future Masters tournaments, in particular the over 30’s men’s and over 30’s ladies. Most discussion centred around whether these two divisions were a) representative of masters sport and b) having a detrimental effect on open division availability, especially in the ladies section and also the viability of an over 50’s men’s division. The effect any subsequent changes would have on existing players was also rightfully discussed.

After discussion it was agreed that the 2013 Masters World Series would remain unchanged, with a number of changes to be made to the 2016 event. It was decided that from 2016 onwards the following changes would take place:

  • The over 30’s men’s division would cease to exist
  • The over 30’s ladies division would cease to exist and be replaced with an over 35’s ladies division
  • An over 50’s men’s division would be included


As a result of the above the following recommendations were accepted for implementation.

  1. That from January 1st 2013 onwards underage divisions would be known as under (age) as per table 1
  2. That from January 1st 2013 onwards the date used to calculate age eligibility will be 31st December in the year of the competition.
  3. That from January 1st 2016 the Over 30’s men’s division will be removed from the WICF World Masters Series
  4. That from January 1st 2016 the Over 30’s ladies division will be removed from the WICF World Masters Series
  5. That from January 1st 2016 an Over 35’s ladies divisions will be added to the WICF Masters World Series
  6. That from January 1st 2016 and Over 50’s men’s division will be added to the WICF Masters World Series


Change to Age Divisions for 2015 WICF Junior World Series

The World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF), announce an important change to the age divisions in advance of the 2015 WICF Junior World Series (to be hosted by Australia).The age groups will be:

Girls – Under 18
Boys – Under 14, Under 16 & Under 18

The key rationale to the change is that the previous changes to the date of birth timing has meant that players who are 16 years of age and turn 17 before the 31 December 2015 cut-off period would be ineligible from competing meaning that such players would be forced to participate in any domestic open age tournament. From a risk management perspective, the WICF believes that boys and girls who are 16 turning 17 should be competing in under age WICF tournaments. The new age groups to be in place now allow this to occur.

It is also acknowledged that there should also be a two year age differential in each age category – so any adjustment to the oldest age category would also adjust the younger two categories as well.

N.B.: The date of birth cut-off remains at 31 December in the year of the tournament –

e.g.        2015 Under 14 eligibility – born in 2002 or later
               2015 Under 16 eligibility – born in either 2000 or 2001
               2016 Under 18 eligibility – born in either 1998 or 1999

Any queries / clarification should be directed to your local regional, state or country representative.

Greg Donnelly - President
World Indoor Cricket Federation

Back to Top

share this with your friends.